• fr
  • en

Data

Ongoing technological evolution and development of digitalisation regularly bring issues pertaining to personal data protection back into the spotlight. Additionally, worldwide personal data processing operations are regulated by an increasingly demanding legal context, exposing companies to more significant image risks and sanctions in the event of non-compliance with the applicable rules.

Drawing on recognised expertise and long-standing experience in the field, Gide’s Data Protection team includes lawyers specialised in the fields of new technologies and European law.

Our lawyers are regularly consulted on questions related to the implementation of personal data processing operations and their compliance with the General Data Protection Regulation, the EU Regulation 2016/679 of 27 April 2016 (the “GDPR”) and the provisions of the French Data Protection Act of 6 January 1978, which was revised on 20 June 2018 with the entry into force of the GDPR.

In addition, Gide constantly monitors developments in the field of data protection, such as the e-Privacy draft regulation.

Gide regularly leads multi-country studies on the legal requirements applicable to personal data processing, and more generally advises clients on:

  • The preparation and the implementation of personal data processing operations that comply with French and international legal requirements,
  • The changes introduced by the GDPR and the implementation of compliance mechanisms further to audits and gap analyses,
  • Completing administrative formalities with data protection authorities,
  • Marketing and advertising in the context of online or mobile activities,
  • Issues pertaining to the management of human resources and the implementation of whistleblowing systems,
  • The implementation of cross-border personal data flows and transfer of personal data to countries outside the EEA, in particular in the context of their international development or the development of their online or Cloud activities,
  • The transfer and communication of personal data as part of international investigations and litigation,
  • The management of control procedures and defence within the course of sanction procedures launched by the data protection authorities.

In-depth European Expertise

Gide was among the first international law firms to open an office in Brussels in 1967. Drawing on longstanding practice of European law and sector-based regulations, Gide assists its clients in interpreting and implementing European legal texts and in getting their voice heard throughout the European legislative process.

In the regulatory field, our lawyers have an outstanding command of European procedures and have regular contact with the European institutions, in particular the European Commission and Parliament.

Moreover, our lawyers have extensive underlying subject matter experience in technology, banking and finance, consumer protection, international law, intellectual property, healthcare and litigation, and have played a leading role in the most recent regulatory developments, including in the field of personal data protection.

Gide also acts in preparing and filing complaints with the European Commission for infringements to the European law that would affect the interests of its clients, such as, for instance, the incorrect transposition or application of EU texts into national Member State law.

• fr
  • en

Data

L’évolution constante des technologies et le développement de la digitalisation renouvellent en permanence le champ des questions en matière de protection des données personnelles. Par ailleurs, les traitements de données personnelles à travers le monde sont régis par un cadre juridique de plus en plus exigeant, exposant les entreprises à des risques d’image et de sanctions de plus en plus importants en cas de non-conformité avec les règles applicables.

Forte d’une expertise reconnue et de nombreuses années d’expérience dans ce domaine, l’équipe Données Personnelles de Gide se compose d’avocats spécialisés en droit des nouvelles technologies et en droit européen. Nos avocats sont régulièrement consultés sur des questions relatives à la mise en œuvre de traitements de données personnelles et leur conformité au Règlement Général sur la Protection des Données, le Règlement UE 2016/679 du 27 avril 2016 (« RGPD ») et aux dispositions de la loi du 6 janvier 1978 dite « Informatique et Libertés » révisée le 20 juin 2018 dans le cadre de l’entrée en vigueur du RGPD.

Gide assure une veille constante des évolutions en la matière, telles que la proposition de Règlement e-Privacy.

Le cabinet pilote régulièrement des études multi-pays en matière de règles applicables à la protection des données personnelles et de manière générale accompagne ses clients notamment :

  • Pour la préparation et la mise en œuvre de traitements de données personnelles dans le respect des exigences juridiques françaises et internationales,
  • Sur les changements introduits par le RGPD et la mise en place de mécanismes de conformité à la suite d’audits,
  • Dans l’accomplissement des formalités auprès des autorités de protection des données,
  • Dans le cadre de leurs activités marketing et promotionnelles en ligne sur Internet et mobiles,
  • Pour des questions relatives à la gestion des ressources humaines, et pour la mise en place de systèmes d’alertes,
  • Dans la mise en place de flux transfrontaliers et de transfert de données personnelles vers des pays hors de l’EEE, notamment dans le cadre de leur développement international ou du développement de leurs activités sur Internet ou dans le « Cloud »,
  • Sur le transfert et la communication de données personnelles dans le cadre d’enquêtes et de contentieux internationaux,
  • Dans le cadre de procédures de contrôle et en défense lors de procédures de sanction engagées par les autorités de protection des données.

Une expertise communautaire approfondie

Gide a été l’un des premiers cabinets d’avocats internationaux à ouvrir un bureau à Bruxelles en 1967. Bénéficiant d’une longue pratique du droit européen et de ses réglementations sectorielles, Gide aide ses clients à interpréter et mettre en œuvre les textes communautaires et également à faire valoir leur point de vue tout au long du processus législatif européen.

Dans le domaine réglementaire, nos avocats disposent d’une excellente maîtrise des procédures et rouages communautaires et ont des contacts réguliers avec les institutions européennes, notamment la Commission et le Parlement.

Nos avocats possèdent, en outre, une grande expérience des problématiques sous-jacentes en matière de technologies, banque et finance, protection des consommateurs, droit international, propriété intellectuelle, santé et contentieux. Ils ont joué un rôle important dans les évolutions réglementaires les plus récentes, y compris dans le domaine de la protection des données personnelles.

Gide intervient également dans la préparation et le dépôt de plaintes auprès de la Commission européenne contre tout manquement au droit communautaire qui serait préjudiciable aux intérêts de ses clients, comme par exemple la transposition ou l’application incorrecte de textes communautaires dans les Etats membres.