• fr
  • en

Based on blockchain technology, Initial Coin Offerings, or ICOs, are a new way to finance projects, meaning such a project can then benefit from reciprocal investment opportunities and network effects. A precise analysis is however necessary to determine their relevance according to the business model being considered..

Current trends in the banking and financial sectors have increased interest in alternative sources of funding. The use of tokens based on the blockchain technology, including Initial Coin Offerings (ICO ), have thus become quite popular for:

  • companies (including start-ups and incumbent players) needing financing;
  • users expecting new services on digital marketplaces; and
  • investors interested in new sources of financial returns (particularly those non-correlated with traditional regulated markets).

With the above in mind, a new ecosystem has come to light these past few years based on the token economy. It is made up of issuers, token holders, and various intermediaries willing to be a part of this new way of doing business and financing.

This phenomenon shed light on certain well-known success stories but also on less fruitful experiences, emphasising the need to question whether ICO financing was appropriate for all business types. Since regulatory frameworks in the jurisdiction(s) involved may not yet be specifically suited to address this innovation, the [due] diligence required as regards ICOs must be very thorough.

How Gide 255 can assist you with ICOs

Gide 255 has developed a specific offer to advise clients on key strategic and legal issues pertaining to ICOs.

  • Drawing on the multidisciplinary expertise of its team members, Gide 255 works with stakeholders in the token economy (issuers, subscribers, other intermediaries involved during and after token issue) to assess the business stakes of the operation, help them take the relevant strategic decisions and provide them with the legal safety to do so.
  • Bearing in mind that regulations regarding the token economy are still changing depending on the jurisdiction(s) involved, Gide 255 assists clients when they consider existing, as well as potential future, legal constraints, to help them integrate all such regulations as a strategic tool to develop their activities.
  • In a field where potentially applicable regulations are complex and may involve several jurisdictions, Gide 255 can call upon the wide range of expertise and the international network of Gide as a whole to provide its clients with a comprehensive one-stop legal service.

• fr
  • en

ICO

Les offres au public de jetons (ICO) proposent une nouvelle manière de financer des projets et de bénéficier ainsi des opportunités réciproques d’investissement et de constitution d’effets de réseaux. Un examen précis est cependant nécessaire pour déterminer leur pertinence selon le modèle d’affaires envisagé.

Les évolutions récentes du domaine bancaire et financier ont accru l’intérêt témoigné pour les sources alternatives de financement. Le recours aux offres au public de jetons s’appuyant sur la technologie blockchain intéresse ainsi particulièrement :

  • les entreprises (dont les start-ups mais aussi les acteurs existants) face à un besoin de financement ;
  • les consommateurs, désireux de nouvelles prestations liées au développement du digital ; et
  • les investisseurs, intéressés par de nouvelles sources de rendement (offrant en particulier une décorrélation par rapport aux marchés régulés traditionnels).

Dans ce contexte, un nouvel écosystème s’est mis en place au cours des dernières années autour de l’économie de jetons. Celle-ci se compose d’émetteurs, de porteurs de jetons et d’intermédiaires souhaitant participer au développement de ce marché.

Ce phénomène a mis en lumière certaines success stories mais également d’autres tentatives moins fructueuses, soulignant ainsi le besoin de s’interroger sur la pertinence du recours aux ICO pour financer certains modèles d’affaires. En outre, le cadre réglementaire applicable dans certaines juridictions peut ne pas être approprié pour cette nouvelle forme de financement, impliquant un besoin de diligences approfondies.

Quel accompagnement de Gide dans le domaine des ICO

Gide 255 propose une offre spécifique pour accompagner ses clients sur les problématiques stratégiques et juridiques clés relatives aux ICO :

  • Capitalisant sur les expertises multidisciplinaires des membres de son équipe, Gide 255 travaille avec l’ensemble des parties prenantes de cet écosystème (émetteurs, souscripteurs, intermédiaires intervenant avant et après l’émission de jetons) pour apprécier les enjeux économiques de leurs opérations, les aider à prendre des décisions stratégiques et assurer la robustesse juridique de leur projet.
  • Avec une réglementation encore changeante dans certaines juridictions, Gide 255 accompagne ses clients dans le respect des contraintes existantes mais également à venir, afin de leur permettre de faire du droit un axe stratégique pour le développement de leurs activités.
  • Dans un domaine où la réglementation applicable est complexe et peut impliquer plusieurs juridictions, Gide 255 peut s’appuyer sur la pluridisciplinarité des expertises et le réseau international du cabinet pour fournir à ses clients un conseil global fourni par un interlocuteur unique.