• fr
  • en

Coin offerings are a new way to finance technological activities. But do they comply with Sharia law?

Certain investors are bound by Shariah principles for their project financing activity. Blockchain and its operating principles could offer them new opportunities.

Blockchain protocols can offer new possibilities to support the development of economic activities. Used as a mean to finance innovative projects and to develop them on the international stage, decentralised transaction systems are of high interest to companies looking to work with an international community of investors and clients likely to understand their offer.

For some investors, tokens’ issuance thanks to the blockchain technology could represent a new opportunity to support the development of a project while respecting Shariah principles.

In short, where investment is concerned, the five cardinal principles of Shariah must be respected. The concepts of interests, speculation, profit- and loss-sharing, and lawfulness of the underlying sectors and the use of tangible goods as underlying assets must be examined.

Respecting these principles necessarily requires a case-by-case analysis. It is of course imperative to take into account the nature of the token, the prerogatives that it offers and the structure of the blockchain on which the operation is carried out.

An activity backed by a blockchain could for instance enable its participants (issuing company and economic partners) to swap service offer and demand without a speculative objective or unbalanced relationship as regards profitability.

If these principles are respected, blockchain could offer a new outlook to those actors adhering to Shariah principles.

• fr
  • en

La souscription de jetons, nouvelle manière de financer le développement d’activités technologiques en conformité avec la Charia ?

Certains investisseurs sont tenus par les principes de la Charia pour leur activité de financement de projet. La blockchain et ses modalités de fonctionnement pourraient offrir de nouvelles opportunités en la matière.

Les protocoles blockchain peuvent offrir de nouvelles possibilités pour accompagner le développement d’activités économiques. Tant pour financer des projets innovants que pour les développer sur la scène internationale, l’intérêt des systèmes de transactions décentralisés trouve tout son sens auprès de sociétés voulant s’adresser à une communauté internationale d’investisseurs et de clients susceptibles de comprendre leur offre.

Pour certains, l’émission de jetons reposant sur une blockchain pourrait représenter une nouvelle opportunité pour accompagner le développement d’un projet, en participant par exemple à son investissement, tout en respectant les principes de la Charia.

De façon synthétique, en matière d’investissement, les cinq principes cardinaux de la Charia doivent être respectés. Les notions d’intérêts, de spéculation, de partage des profits et pertes, de licéité des secteurs sous-jacents et d’adossement à des actifs tangibles doivent être examinés.

Le respect de ces principes doit impérativement reposer sur une analyse au cas par cas. Il est en effet nécessaire de prendre en compte notamment la nature du jeton, les prérogatives qu’il offre et la structuration de ladite blockchain sur la base de laquelle l’opération s’effectue.

Une activité adossée à une blockchain pourrait par exemple permettre à ses participants (société émettrice et partenaires économiques) d’échanger offre et demande de services sans objectif spéculatif ni rapport déséquilibré en termes de rentabilité.

Si ces principes sont respectés, la blockchain pourrait alors offrir aux acteurs respectant les principes de la Charia des perspectives nouvelles.