• fr
  • en

What is an ICO?

The term “ICO” is now widely used, covering a vast reality with common features.

An ICO, or Initial Coin Offering, enables entities to raise money in exchange of tokens (sometimes defined as “digital assets”), the issue of which is registered via a blockchain. Tokens are issued in exchange of cash or cryptocurrencies. The use of a blockchain secures in a digitalised and decentralised way the transactions between the issuer and the token holders. Such holders may acquire tokens either directly or through intermediaries.

Tokens and the prerogatives they grant generally play a significant role in a project. They may take many different forms and provide various rights and usages. For instance, holders may be vested with:

  • the right to benefit from certain services offered by the project to the community of token holders,
  • certain prerogatives in the governance of the issuer, or
  • the right to perceive a share of any profits generated by the project financed via the ICO.

In practice, tokens may provide their holders access to unique IT upgrades or to specific services available online, such as cloud storage possibilities.

ICOs generally come into play at an early development stage of a given project. Once issued, the tokens may be used by their holders according to their characteristics and the prerogatives that they offer. As in initial public offering (“IPO”) for projects relying on securities admitted to trading on regulated platforms, tokens may also be exchanged after an ICO on what would be the equivalent of a “secondary market”.

• fr
  • en

L’ICO est un terme désormais largement utilisé, qui désigne cependant une large diversité de réalités, avec des opérations revêtant des caractéristiques spécifiques.

Une ICO permet à une entité de lever des capitaux en l’échange de jetons (parfois appelés « actifs digitaux »), dont l’émission est enregistrée sur une blockchain. Les jetons sont émis en contrepartie du versement d’argent ou d’autres crypto-monnaies. Le recours à la blockchain permet de sécuriser de façon digitale et décentralisée les transactions entre un émetteur de jetons et leurs porteurs. Ces derniers peuvent acquérir des jetons en direct ou via des intermédiaires.

Les jetons, ainsi que les prérogatives qu’ils octroient, jouent un rôle significatif dans le fonctionnement du projet qu’ils financent. Ils peuvent prendre de nombreuses formes et fournir différents droits. Les titulaires de jetons peuvent par exemple se voir reconnaître :

  • un droit de bénéficier de certains services offerts par le projet à la communauté des souscripteurs, ou
  • certaines prérogatives dans la gouvernance de l’émetteur, ou
  • le droit de percevoir une portion du profit généré par le projet que l’ICO finance.

En pratique, les jetons peuvent fournir à leurs titulaires une accès unique aux améliorations informatiques ou à certains services digitaux, comme des possibilités de stockage sur le cloud.

Les ICO interviennent en général au moment des premières phases de développement d’un projet. Une fois issus, les jetons peuvent être utilisés par leurs titulaires selon les caractéristiques et les prérogatives qu’ils offrent. A l’instar des offres au public d’achat (initial public offering ou IPO) pour les projets financés via l’émission de titres financiers, les jetons peuvent être échangés après l’ICO sur ce qui serait l’équivalent d’un marché secondaire.