• fr
  • en

“blockchain”, initially “block chain”, is a term that is now widely used. It is essential to understand the concept behind it. Conceptualised around ten years ago, blockchain technology initially required the availability of a digital protocol and encryption, which enabled the development of a transparent and decentralised ledger where all transaction blocks were securely stored.

The Bitcoin protocol, which was used to issue the eponymous coins, was the pioneering blockchain language that heralded the advent of other blockchain languages developed since 2008.

Considering the many advantages of a decentralised and distributed ledger as regards cost-reduction, lower central counterparty risk, and greater digital security in the transmission and storage of information, blockchain quickly piqued the attention of financial market players.

This is, in fact, how blockchain was defined (i.e. a decentralised and secure protocol liable to reduce the number of intermediaries) in French law as early as 20161. It was then reviewed in 20172, thereby strengthening its pioneering role as regards ledger-keeping for the financial sector.

It would be too simplistic to reduce blockchain, and its high potential, to this one economic sector. Its numerous possibilities, such as the implementation of self-executing smart contracts or the financing of entrepreneurial projects via initial coin offerings (ICOs), pave the way to a wide variety of other potential developments. These opportunities also increasingly represent a strategic stake for all economic sectors that will be forced to review their business model (e.g. distribution and transactions).

_______

1) Order 2016-520 of 28 April 2016.
2) Order 2017-1674 of 9 December 2017.

• fr
  • en

La « blockchain » est un terme désormais largement usité. Il est essentiel d’en comprendre les contours. Apparue il y a une dizaine d’années, la technologie « blockchain » repose, au départ, sur la mise à disposition d’un protocole informatique composé d’un langage crypté, qui permet le développement d’un registre transparent et décentralisé où sont enregistrés, de manière sécurisée, des blocs de transactions.

A l’origine, le protocole « Bitcoin », depuis lequel ont été émis les jetons éponymes, fût pionnier et annonciateur d’autres langages « blockchain » qui se sont développés depuis sa création (2008).

Compte tenu des vertus qu’un registre décentralisé et distribué peut permettre en matière, notamment, de réduction de coûts, de diminution du risque de contrepartie centrale et de sécurisation informatique dans la transmission et le stockage d’informations, la blockchain a rapidement suscité un intérêt croissant chez les acteurs des marchés financiers.

C’est d’ailleurs comme tel (i.e. un protocole décentralisé et sécurisé susceptible de réduire les intermédiaires) que la blockchain fut définie dans la loi française dès 20161, puis reprise en 20172, consacrant ainsi son rôle novateur dans la tenue de registre pour le domaine financier.

Il serait néanmoins réducteur de l’astreindre, ainsi que ses potentialités, à ce seul secteur économique. Les possibilités qu’elle offre, comme la mise en place de contrats s’exécutant seuls et sans intervention humaine (« smart contracts »), ou le financement de projet entrepreneurial via l’émission de jetons numériques (initial coin offerings – « ICO »), ouvrent la voie à de nombreux développements possibles. Ces opportunités représentent également un enjeu stratégique pour l’ensemble des secteurs économiques contraints à repenser leur modèle (par exemple, en matière de distribution et de transactions).

_______

1) Ordonnance 2016-520 du 28 avril 2016.
2) Ordonnance 2017-1674 du 9 décembre 2017.