• fr
  • en

What are the regulatory issues of ICOs?

Whether you are a project holder or an investor, considering ICOs requires that you precisely analyse the legal constraints likely to apply in the various countries potentially involved.

The token economy, and especially ICOs, is based on a fast-changing underlying technology: blockchain. Yet, the related regulatory framework has generally not changed at the same speed. Depending on the jurisdiction involved, the law has not, or only partially, addressed this technological evolution. Although the gap between technology and law certainly generates some level of uncertainty, it also offers stakeholders the opportunity to be innovative and to use the existing regulatory regime as a strategic framework governing their project.

Once again, a case-by-case analysis is necessary to address the regulatory issues of each individual project. Nevertheless, a token’s legal qualification appears as the cornerstone of any legal analysis to be undertaken by stakeholders.

One of the main questions is determining whether tokens qualify as securities. A positive response may trigger, for example, the application of a whole set of rules applicable to IPOs  or the regime governing services related to financial instruments .

In practice, this depends of course on the characteristics of the token but also on the countries involved, as there is no worldwide harmonised regulatory answer to this question. The array of positions taken so far by governments, regulators and legislators regarding ICOs is extremely wide, ranging from “regulatory sandboxes” that enable issuers to test their activities under a simplified regime in certain countries, to the full and systematic application of Securities Law in others.

The absence of consistency is of particular importance for operations like ICOs that are generally largely international by nature and do not limit their scope to any single country. Issuers, and potential intermediaries involved, must carefully consider the various national laws that could apply to their offer.

For instance, they could consider the location of potential token holders, the local regime applicable to their operation, and the mechanisms aimed at ensuring that ICOs are not regulated in other countries which, as recently demonstrated [in the XXX case], could otherwise lead to a significant risk of litigation and enforcement procedures.

It is worth bearing in mind that the qualification of the tokens determines the rules applicable not only to the issuer, but also to all the other stakeholders in the operation. In fact, token qualification:

  • determines the rules and the legal protection that investors/users may enjoy. For example, it impacts the content of the information document (whitepapers and/or terms and conditions) to provide to potential token holders.
  • impacts the accounting and tax regime that potential token holders will be subject to when acquiring tokens.
  • defines the rules and responsibilities that other actors, such as intermediaries, need to comply with, for instance requirements as regards anti-money laundering and “know-your-customer” (KYC) obligations.

Lastly, besides the analysis of token qualification, an holistic and casuistic review must be carried out to perfectly understand the full scope of rules that ICO participants must implement, as each operation has its own specifics. For instance, depending on the type of users or investors targeted, certain fields of law, such as the Consumer Law in France, might become applicable and thereby significantly influence the nature of claims that token holders may have against the issuer or the intermediaries involved.

Although ICOs may be, on the long term, a remarkable innovation broadening the scope of funding options for project holders, they continue to raise a number of issues that must be anticipated carefully to ensure that they offer, to all the initiatives that they finance, the opportunities that they promise.

2) Règlement (UE) 2017/1129 du Parlement européen et du Conseil du 14 juin 2017.

 

>> Read our “Pacte Act” | Initial Coin Offerings poised to enjoy an ad hoc regulatory regime in France client alert of 20 June 2018

• fr
  • en

Quelles sont les problématiques réglementaires soulevées par les ICO ?

Pour les porteurs de projet comme pour les investisseurs, envisager une ICO requiert d’analyser les contraintes réglementaires susceptibles de s’appliquer dans les différents pays possiblement impliqués.

L’économie de jetons, en particulier les ICO, s’appuie sur une technologie sous-jacente ayant connu une évolution rapide : la blockchain. Cependant, le cadre réglementaire n’a en général pas évolué avec la même rapidité. Selon la juridiction, le droit n’a pas, ou n’a que partiellement, traité de cette évolution technologique. Même si ce décalage peut engendrer de l’incertitude réglementaire, il offre également aux acteurs des opportunités pour être innovant et utiliser ce cadre réglementaire existant comme un axe stratégique de leur projet.

A nouveau, une analyse au cas par cas est nécessaire pour analyser les problématiques réglementaires que chaque projet donné peut soulever. Toutefois, la qualification juridique du jeton apparaît comme la pierre angulaire de toute diligence réglementaire que les acteurs doivent mener.

L’une des questions essentielles consiste à s’interroger sur la possible qualification du jeton en instrument financier. Une réponse positive peut impliquer l’application des exigences propres aux offres au public de titres financiers5 ou à la fourniture de services d’investissement.

En pratique, cette analyse dépend des caractéristiques du jeton mais aussi de la juridiction en cause, dans la mesure où il n’y a pas d’approche réglementaire unique à l’échelle internationale. Les approches prises jusque-là par les gouvernements, régulateurs et législateurs sur les ICO sont très variées, allant (i) dans certains pays, de « sandboxes » réglementaires permettant aux émetteurs de tester leur modèle d’affaires dans le respect d’un régime simplifié à (ii) une application complète des règles financières traditionnelles dans d’autres.

L’absence d’unicité d’approche prend une importance particulière pour des opérations telles que les ICO, qui sont en général d’envergure internationale et ne limitent pas leur périmètre à une seule juridiction. L’émetteur, et les différents intermédiaires impliqués, doivent analyser avec précaution les différents droits susceptibles de s’appliquer à leur émission.

A cette fin, ils doivent prendre en compte la situation géographique des porteurs de jetons potentiels, le régime local applicable à cette opération et le dispositif visant à s’assurer que l’ICO n’est pas régie par le droit d’autres juridictions.

L’absence d’une telle prise en compte de ces éléments implique un risque significatif de contentieux et de procédure répressive.

Notons que la qualification du jeton est déterminante pour l’identification des règles applicables à l’émetteur mais également aux autres parties prenantes à l’opération. La qualification juridique :

  • détermine les règles et la protection juridique dont bénéficient les investisseurs/utilisateurs du jeton. Par exemple, elle détermine le contenu du document d’information (le « whitepaper » ou les « terms and conditions ») à fournir aux potentiels souscripteurs ;
  • implique le régime comptable et fiscal que les souscripteurs du jetons devront respecter ; et
  • définit les exigences et les responsabilités que les autres acteurs tels que les intermédiaires doivent mettre en œuvre, notamment les obligations relatives à la lutte contre le blanchiment d’argent et le financement du terrorisme ainsi que celles concernant la connaissance des clients.

Enfin, au-delà de la seule qualification des jetons, une analyse holistique et casuistique doit être menée pour identifier l’ensemble des exigences qu’un émetteur doit respecter, car chaque opération a ses caractéristiques propres. Par exemple, selon le type d’investisseurs ou d’utilisateurs ciblé, certains pans du droit, comme le droit de la consommation en France, peut trouver à s’appliquer. Ceux-ci peuvent avoir un impact significatif par exemple sur le régime des réclamations que les porteurs de jetons peuvent avoir contre l’émetteur ou les intermédiaires.

Même si les ICO peuvent être, sur le long terme, une innovation remarquable élargissant le périmètre des possibilités pour financer un projet, elles continuent de soulever un nombre de problématiques qui doivent être dûment anticipées pour offrir aux porteurs de projets toutes les opportunités qu’elles laissent entrevoir.

2) Règlement (UE) 2017/1129 du Parlement européen et du Conseil du 14 juin 2017.

 

>> Lire notre client alert Projet de loi Pacte | Offres de jetons (Initial Coin Offerings) du 20 juin 2018