• fr
  • en

What structure to “blockchain” your activity(ies)?

Integrating blockchain in companies’ business models can be carried out in many ways. Companies should anticipate these practical modalities taking into account specific  operational and legal issues each of them might be facing.

Integrating blockchain in a company’s business model is a strategic move as regards its development. How such integration is carried out, however, is of vital importance to optimise organisation and ensure correct operation.

The very nature of the chosen blockchain is essential. Depending on the underlying objective for integrating blockchain, companies can choose between private (or “owner”) blockchains, public blockchains (e.g. Bitcoin or Ethereum) or hybrid blockchains. The characteristics of each type can be more or less appropriate depending on the project’s end purpose.

Similarly, if blockchain is chosen to finance the development of an activity via a coin offering, it is necessary to define the nature of such tokens, their characteristics and degree of liquidity that will be necessary on the secondary market where these tokens could be exchanged once they have been issued, to further support the proper development of the project.

More broadly, using blockchain and tokens can be ensured either directly or by intermediaries whose status and assignments can vary depending on the situation. Given market practices, it appears that certain assignments, such as implementing a mechanism on client knowledge, combating money laundering and the financing of terrorism, or ensuring liquidity on the secondary token market, can be handed over to outside service providers. Nevertheless, structuring these links with the blockchain and potential intermediaries via, for instance, delegation or externalisation of these assignments, determines the liability regime and the obligations resting with the company.

Additionally, a number of questions pertaining to territoriality are raised, considering the creation, in many cases, of new chains of intermediaries operating around these new protocols.

An in-depth analysis of the project on both technological and economic aspects, is therefore essential to determine the entire ecosystem and related legal structuring that will be necessary to the proper functioning of the project.

• fr
  • en

Quelle structuration pour la « blockchainisation » de vos activités ?

L’intégration de la blockchain dans les modèles d’affaires des entreprises peut s’opérer selon des modalités multiples, qu’elles doivent anticiper compte tenu des enjeux opérationnels et juridiques que chacune revêt.

L’intégration de la blockchain dans le modèle d’affaires d’une entreprise est un choix stratégique dans son développement. Les modalités de cette intégration sont cependant déterminantes pour optimiser l’organisation et en assurer le bon fonctionnement.

La nature de la blockchain retenue est essentielle. Selon l’objectif qui sous-tend à cette intégration, les acteurs peuvent en effet choisir entre les blockchains privées (ou « propriétaires »), publiques (ex: Bitcoin ou Ethereum) ou hybrides. Les caractéristiques de chacune d’entre elles peuvent être plus ou moins appropriées selon l’ambition portée par le projet.

De même, si l’utilisation de la blockchain est retenue pour financer le développement d’une activité via une offre de jetons, il est impératif d’anticiper la nature de ces derniers, leurs caractéristiques et le degré de liquidité qui sera nécessaire sur le marché secondaire où ces jetons pourraient être échangés après leur émission, pour soutenir le bon développement du projet.

Plus largement, le recours à la blockchain et l’utilisation de jetons peuvent être assurés directement ou par des intermédiaires dont le statut et les missions peuvent varier selon les situations. Au vu des pratiques de marché, il apparaît que certaines missions, telles que la mise en place d’un dispositif sur la connaissance des clients, la lutte contre le blanchiment de capitaux et le financement du terrorisme, ou l’animation de la liquidité sur le marché secondaire de jetons, peuvent être confiées à des prestataires extérieurs. Or, la structuration de ces liens avec la blockchain et d’éventuels intermédiaires via, par exemple, une délégation ou une externalisation de ces missions, détermine le régime de responsabilité et les obligations qui reposeront sur l’entreprise.

En outre, de nombreuses questions de territorialité se posent, compte tenu de la constitution, dans de nombreux cas, de nouvelles chaînes d’intermédiaires opérant autour de ces nouveaux protocoles.

Une analyse approfondie du projet, portant sur ses contours technologiques et économiques, paraît donc essentielle pour définir l’ensemble de l’écosystème et la structuration juridique afférente, qui seront nécessaires au bon fonctionnement du projet.